

THE ASSEMBLY STATE OF NEW YORK ALBANY

February 8, 2022

Honorable Kathy Hochul Governor of New York State New York State Capitol Building Albany, NY 12224

Dr. Mary T. Bassett, M.D., M.P.H, Commissioner New York State Department of Health Corning Tower Empire State Plaza Albany, NY 12237

Dr. Betty A. Rosa, Commissioner New York State Education Department 89 Washington Avenue Albany, New York 12234

Dear Governor Hochul, Commissioners Bassett & Rosa:

We write to urge the Department of Health (DOH) to stop its permanent adoption of the following emergency regulations: *Prevention of COVID-19 Transmission by Covered Entities, Face Coverings for COVID-19 Prevention, and Investigation of Communicable Disease; Isolation and Quarantine.*

In addition, we also urge the State Education Department (SED) to stop its permanent adoption of its emergency regulation *Execution by Registered Professional Nurses of Non-Patient Specific Orders to Administer COVID-19 Immunizations*.

The decision to unilaterally declare these emergency regulations as permanent rules circumvents the legislative process that is enshrined in state law. Article III, Section 1 of the New York Constitution, states "[t]he legislative power of this state shall be vested in the Senate and Assembly". We believe that the power to entrust the DOH and SED to permanently impose such mandates lies with the duly elected members of the state Assembly and Senate, not appointed commissioners.

As you are aware, at the start of the pandemic the former governor requested and received from the Legislature enhanced powers to deal with an unprecedented public health emergency.

While members of our Conference expressed several concerns with how the Executive used emergency powers, it was clear that the Legislature had granted temporary authority to make determinations he felt were in the best interests of public health. When the original emergency declaration ended last June, those enhanced powers were deemed legally repealed. Absent express authorization by the Legislature, neither the governor, Department of Health nor any other state agency or authority possess such powers.

New Yorkers in every region of the state are demanding a return to normalcy, which includes a return to representative government, rather than endless mandates and heavy-handed regulations. While neighboring states like New Jersey and Pennsylvania are finally relaxing state mandates, New York is fighting in court to keep mask requirements in place while creating new, unilateral statewide orders without legislative approval.

Regardless of one's opinion regarding the effectiveness of mask mandates, vaccine mandates, isolation or quarantine, the people of this state deserve to have a voice in this discussion through their elected representatives. Unfortunately, New Yorkers currently are in the dark as to what data the DOH and SED are relying on in making permanent these mandates, which greatly impact our school children, businesses and communities.

We urge you to reverse course and respect the authority of the state Legislature and local governments as our Constitution intended. Thank you for your consideration of our comments and their inclusion as part of the official public record.

Sincerely,

Will Barclay

Assembly Minority Leader

Willa a. Barely

Edward P. Ra

19th Assembly District

Philip A. Palmesano

132nd Assembly District

Chi a. Colmo

Joseph Angelino
122nd Assembly District

Kenn Blankenbush 117th Assembly District

Keith P. Brown 12th Assembly District

Marjorie L. Byrnes 133rd Assembly District

David J. DiPietro
147th Assembly District

Michael J. Fitzpatrick 8th Assembly District

Jeffery Gallahan 131st Assembly District

Hy L. Gelle

Jacob Ashby 107th Assembly District

Karl Brabenec
98th Assembly District

Kevin M. Byrne 94th Assembly District

Joseph P. DeStefano 3rd Assembly District

Michael Durso 9th Assembly District

Christopher S. Friend 124th Assembly District

Parett Gandolfo 7th Assembly District Jodi Giglio

2nd Assembly District

Andrew Goodell 150th Assembly District

Joshua T. Jensen 134th Assembly District

Michael Lawler 97th Assembly District

Brian D. Manktelow 130th Assembly District

John K. Misulin
John Mikulin
17th Assembly District

Melissa "Missy" Miller 20th Assembly District

Joseph M. Lighi

Joseph M. Giglio 148th Assembly District

Have Howing

Stephen M. Hawley 139th Assembly District

Kieran Michael Lalor 105th Assembly District

K. M. L

John Lemondes, Jr. 126th Assembly District

David G. McDonough 14th Assembly District

Brian D. Miller
101st Assembly District

Michael A. Montesano 15th Assembly District

mulal a. montumo

Angelo Morinello
Angelo Morinello
145th Assembly District

Michael W. Reilly, Jr. 62nd Assembly District

Colin J. Schmitt 99th Assembly District

Douglas M. Smith 5th Assembly District

Jula M July

Christopher Tague 102nd Assembly District

Mark C. Walczyk 116th Assembly District Michael J. Norris 144th Assembly District

John J. Salka 121st Assembly District

Matthew Simpson 114th Assembly District

Robert J. Smullen Robert J. Smullen 118th Assembly District

Michael Tannousis 64th Assembly District

Mary Beth Walsh 112th Assembly District