

THE ASSEMBLY STATE OF NEW YORK ALBANY

December 15, 2020

Hon. Carl E. Heastie Speaker, New York State Assembly Legislative Office Building, Room 932 Albany, NY 12248

Hon. Robert G. Ortt Minority Leader, New York State Senate Capitol Building, Room 315 Albany, NY 12247

Dear Legislative Leaders:

Hon. Andrea Stewart-Cousins Majority Leader, New York State Senate Legislative Office Building, Room 907 Albany, NY 12247

As we near the end of 2020 with a new legislative session quickly approaching, members of the Assembly Minority Conference are eager for an immediate return to the principles and processes of representative democracy on which our Constitution and our country were built.

Since March, Governor Cuomo has used his expanded emergency powers to implement, and then extend, numerous directives. We believe this grossly exceeds his executive authority.

As you know, Chapter 23 of the Laws of 2020 authorized a \$40 million emergency appropriation for the state to make necessary preparations to deal with the coronavirus outbreak. Also included in that legislation was a measure to add "disease outbreak" to the list of emergencies by which the governor assumed expanded authorities.

While the law granted the governor the ability to issue emergency directives, it did not empower him with the statutory authority to extend directives for an additional 30 days, which is permitted for the suspensions of laws.

Therefore, we are calling on you to review the legal authority granted to the governor and seek input from legislative colleagues on how to proceed in the best interest of all New Yorkers. At the first possible opportunity – hopefully on the first day of the 2021 Legislative Session, if not sooner – we encourage the passage of legislation such as <u>A.10546</u>, which would limit the governor's expanded powers and dramatically increase local authority during future emergencies.

This has been a year that none of us will forget. You, and all the members of the Legislature, have worked tirelessly to provide help to so many constituents in crisis. Those efforts will certainly continue as we move into the new session and new calendar.

As we look forward to 2021, we urge you to take immediate steps in the coming weeks to restore full representative democracy in New York State. From a philosophical, operational, and now legal perspective, it is clear that the Legislature must resume its rightful place as a co-equal branch of government.

Thank you for your consideration.

Sincerely,

Will- a. Barely

Will Barclay Assembly Minority Leader

Edward P. Ra

Edward Wa

19th Assembly District

(Mdaw) Boodea

Andrew Goodell 150th Assembly District

Melissa "Missy" Miller 20th Assembly District

Men nin

Jacob Ashby
107th Assembly District

Karl Brabenec 98th Assembly District

Harl A Rabence

Mark C. Walczyk
116th Assembly District

Angelo J. Morinello 145th Assembly District

Muchael of Nonio

Angelo & Morenello

Michael J. Norris 144th Assembly District

Kenneth D. Blankenbush 117th Assembly District

Ken Blanferbus

Keith P. Brown 12th Assembly District

le PBr

Lein Borne

Kevin M. Byrne 94th Assembly District

Olf Bruch

Clifford W. Crouch 122nd Assembly District

David J. DiPietro
147th Assembly District

pular Fyretish

Michael J. Fitzpatrick 8th Assembly District

Andrew R. Garbarino 7th Assembly District

SHINE

Stephen M. Hawley 139th Assembly District

Kieran Michael Lalor 105th Assembly District

K. M. L

Maijorie I Zyung

Marjorie L. Byrnes 133rd Assembly District

Ja C Desty

Joseph P. DeStefano 3rd Assembly District

Sury D. frish

Gary D. Finch 126th Assembly District

CSF

Christopher S. Friend 124th Assembly District

Joseph M. Giglio
148th Assembly District

Brian M. Kolb 131st Assembly District

Stu

Peter A. Lawrence 134th Assembly District MI Re-

Michael LiPetri 9th Assembly District

Brim D. Market

Brian D. Manktelow 130th Assembly District

John K. Misulin

John Mikulin 17th Assembly District

muchal of montune

Michael A. Montesano 15th Assembly District

Anthony H. Palumbo 2nd Assembly District

John J. Salka 121st Assembly District

Dougla M Sattle

Douglas M. Smith 5th Assembly District

Nicole Malliotakis 64th Assembly District

David G. McDonough 14th Assembly District

Brian D. Miller

Brian D. Miller 101st Assembly District

The a. Colmo

Philip A. Palmesano 132nd Assembly District

Michael W. Reilly, Jr. 62nd Assembly District

Colin J. Schmitt

Colif. Schmits

99th Assembly District

Robert J. Smullen

Robert J. Smullen 118th Assembly District

Daniel G. Stec 114th Assembly District Christopher Tague 102nd Assembly District

Churc

Mary Beth Walsh 112th Assembly District