

THE ASSEMBLY STATE OF NEW YORK ALBANY

RANKING MINORITY MEMBER
Committee on
Tourism, Parks, Arts and
Sports Development
COMMITTEES

COMMITTEES
Aging
Alcoholism and Drug Abuse
Energy
Health
Higher Education

March 12, 2025

Honorable Kathy Hochul Governor, State of New York New York State Capitol Building Albany, NY 12224

Dear Governor Hochul:

As you know, the last few weeks have been a tumultuous time across New York State for our correctional officers (COs), facility staff, the incarcerated population, administrators, activated National Guardsmen, state officials, and affected families. As we work to alleviate tensions and recommit to ensuring public safety, it is our hope that as state leaders we can collaborate on how to best protect all of those in our state's correctional system.

With our shared goal of public safety for all, and to protect our CO employment numbers from further decline, we ask that your administration issue a 48-hour stay on the termination notices recently distributed to more than 2,000 employees within the Department of Corrections and Community Supervision (DOCCS). This brief reprieve would allow COs another opportunity to return to work and protect others who may have missed the 6:45 a.m. deadline by mere minutes. This step would serve as a significant demonstration of compassion and commitment to the dedicated members of our workforce. However, this brief reprieve would not alter the outcome if someone does not return within that specified timeframe.

We can all agree these employees have served New York State diligently, often under demanding conditions. Granting them a short window of leniency before finalizing their terminations would allow them the opportunity to reconsider and a chance to preserve the system from further deterioration. Furthermore, allowing this 48-hour stay would demonstrate to these workers that our state truly values their contributions and sacrifices made as part of our workforce. At the conclusion of this period, the termination notices may be executed as planned, but with the understanding we have extended every consideration to those affected, taking a compassionate approach in our leadership efforts.

Thank you for your time and consideration on this challenging matter. We appreciate your thoughtful attention to this request and continued commitment to the people of New York State.

Sincerely,

Scott A. Gray

116th Assembly District

Will Barclay

Assembly Minority Leader

Will_ a. Barely

Philip A. Palmesano 132ndAssembly District Joseph ampelina

Joseph Angelino 121st Assembly District

Anil Beephan 105th Assembly District

Kenneth D. Blankenbush 117th Assembly District

Ken Blanfenbus

Paul Bologna 144th Assembly District

Alec Brook-Krasny 46th Assembly District

Keith P. Brown 12th Assembly District

2118

Patrick Cludzinski 143rd Assembly District

David J. DiPietro 147th Assembly District

Haml J. DiPrite

Gedra KBailey

Andrea Bailey 133rd Assembly District

Scott Bendett 107th Assembly District

Jacob Blumencranz 15th Assembly District

Karl Brabenec 98th Assembly District

Ari Brown 20th Assembly District

Lester Chang 49th Assembly District

Joseph P. DeStefano 3rd Assembly District

Michael Durso 9th Assembly District hubar Fyralish

Michael J. Fitzpatrick 8th Assembly District

Jeffery Gallahan
131st Assembly District

Jodi Giglio 2nd Assembly District

Joshua T. Jensen 134th Assembly District

Brian Maher 101st Assembly District

David G. McDonough 14th Assembly District

Brian D. Miller 122nd Assembly District

Brian D. Miller

CSF

Christopher S. Friend 124th Assembly District

Jarett Gandolfo 7th Assembly District

Stephen M. Hawley 139th Assembly District

John Lemondes, Jr. 126th Assembly District

Brian D. Manktelow 130th Assembly District

ohn K. Mibulin

John Mikulin 17th Assembly District

Daniel Norber 16th Assembly District Munten

Michael Novakhov 45th Assembly District

Edward Wa

Edward P. Ra 19th Assembly District

Joseph Sempolinski 148th Assembly District

Matthew J. Slater 94th Assembly District

Robert J. Smullen

118th Assembly District

Michael Tannousis 64th Assembly District Som Piropole

Samuel T. Pirozzolo 63rd Assembly District

Michael W. Reilly, Jr. 62nd Assembly District

Matthew Simpson 114th Assembly District

Douglas M. Smith 5th Assembly District

Christopher Tague 102nd Assembly District

Mary Beth Walsh 112th Assembly District