Joint Legislative Public Hearings On
2018-2019 Executive Budget Proposal
Elementary and Secondary Education
January 31, 2018
9:30 AM
Hearing Room B, Legislative Office Building, Albany


MaryEllen Elia
Commissioner, New York State Education Department

Carmen Farina
Chancellor, New York City Department of Education

Michael Mulgrew
President, United Federation of Teachers – UFT

Andrew Pallotta
President, New York State United Teachers – NYSUT

Dr. Kriner Cash
Superintendent Buffalo School District, Conference of Big 5 School Districts

Jaime Alicea
Superintendent, Syracuse School District

Dr. Edwin Quezada
Superintendent, Yonkers Public Schools

Georgia Asciutto
Executive Director, Conference Big 5 School Districts

Dr. Bernadette Kappen
Chair, 4201 Schools Association

Jasmine Gripper
Legislative Director, Alliance for Quality Education

Robert Lowry
Deputy Director, NYS Council of School Superintendents

Mark Cannizzaro
President, Council of School Supervisors and Administrators – CSA

Cynthia Gallagher
Dir. Govt. Relations, School Administrators Association of New York State

Julie Marlette
Director of Government Relations, NYS School Boards Association

Michael Borges
Executive Director, NYS Association of School Business Officials

Elliot Garcia
3rd Vice President, NYS School Facilities Association

David Little
Executive Director, Rural School Association of NYS

Rabbi Yeruchim Silber
Dir. Government Relations, Agudath Israel of America

Jacob Adler
Director Government Affairs, Orthodox Union

Jim Cultrara
Director for Education, NYS Catholic Conference

Christopher Goeken
Executive Director, Association of Public Broadcasting Stations of New York

Betty Holcomb
Policy Director, Center for Children’s Initiatives

Randi Levine
Policy Director, Advocates for Children of New York

Lindsay Miller
Executive Director, New York Association on Independent Living

Chad Underwood
Executive Director, Independent Living Center

Helga Yuan-Larsen
Director, Quality Stars New York

Mike Nepple
Dir. Govt. Relations, New York Library Association

Mark Bordeau
Vice President, New York School Nutrition Association

Peter Mannella
Executive Director, NY Association for Pupil Transportation

Kyle Belokopitsky
Executive Director, New York State Parent Teacher Association

Marion Bott
Education Finance Specialist, New York State League of Women Voters

Christopher Treiber
Assoc. Executive Director, InterAgency Council of Developmental Disabilities Agencies, Inc.

Written Testimony
Chris Neitzey
New York State Network for Youth Success

David A. Little, Esq.
Chief Operating Officer, Reform Educational Financing Inequities Today

Grant Cowles
Citizens Committee for Children

Andrea Rogers
Northeast Charter Schools Network

Bree Allen
New York School Bus Contractors Association

Kathleen Brady-Stepien, Director of Advocacy
New York State Coalition of 853 Schools

Samantha Levy
American Farmland Trust

Linda Quick
District Superintendent, Cattaraugus-Allegany-Erie BOCES

Linda Hurley
Executive Director, Department of Strategic Initiatives BOCES, Nassau

No Kid Hungry Campaign

Jeffrey A. Schoenfeld
President, UJA-Federation of NY

Douglas Huntley
Superintendent, Union Free School District Washington, Saratoga, Warren, Hamilton, Essex BOCES