Joint Legislative Budget Hearing - Human Services
February 9, 2021
9:30 a.m.


Sheila Poole
Commissioner, New York State Office of Children and Family Services

Michael P. Hein
Commissioner, New York State Office of Temporary & Disability Assistance

Greg Olsen
Acting Director, New York State Office for the Aging

Joel Evans
Executive Deputy Director, NYS Division of Veterans’ Services

Ryan Johnson
Associate Director, NYS Kinship Navigator

Jenn O’Conner
Director of Policy and Advocacy, Prevent Child Abuse New York

William Gettman
CEO, Northern Rivers Family of Services

Trudy Morgan
Policy Director, NYS Network for Youth Success

Dede Hill
Director of Policy, Schuyler Center for Analysis and Advocacy

Kathleen Brady-Stepien
President and CEO, Council of Family and Child Caring Agencies (COFCCA)

Gregory Brender
Director of Public Policy, Day Care Council of New York

Cynthia Dames
Project Manager, New Pride Agenda

Beatriz Diaz Taveras
Executive Director, Catholic Charities Community Services

Gabriela Andrade
Policy and Organizing Strategist, Human Services Council (HSC)

Roy M. Diehl
Lieutenant Colonel, U.S. Army (Retired), Deputy Director, NYSDA Veterans Defense Program

Clyde J. Tate II
Major General, U.S. Army (Retired) & Chief Counsel, Justice for Vets

Gail Myers
Deputy Director, New York Statewide Senior Action Council

Rebecca Preve
Executive Director, The Association on Aging in New York

Melissa Sklarz
Senior Gov’t Relations Strategist, Services & Advocacy for Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual & Transgender Elders (SAGE)

Katelyn Andrews
Director of Public Policy, LiveOn NY

Raymond Wayne
Field Representative, National Federation of the Blind of New York State

Velvet Johnson Ross
Leader, Neighbors Together

Gianpaola Baiocchi
Director, Urban Democracy Lab at New York University

Dr. Myra Henry
President & CEO, YWCA of Rochester and Monroe County

Florencio Gil
Leader, 1050-1064 Carroll Place Tenant Association

Written Testimony
Beth Finkel
State Director for AARP New York

Honorable Robert Russell
Acting Erie County court Judge & Buffalo City Court Judge

Jason T. Garnar
County Executive, Office for Aging, State of NY County of Broome Government Office

Mary Ann Spanos
Director, Chautaqua County Office for Aging Services

Julia L. Davis, Esq.
Director of Youth Justice & Child Welfare, Children’s Defense Fund-NY

Raysa S. Rodriguez
Associate Executive Director for Policy and Advocacy, Citizens’ Committee for Children of New York (CCC)

Shelly Nortz
Deputy Executive Director for Policy, Coalition for the Homeless

Amy Blumsack
Director, of Organizing & Policy, Neighbors Together

Kristin Miller
Director, Corporation for Supportive Housing (CSH)

Jessica Klos Shapiro
Director of Policy and Community Education

Susan Antos
Senior Attorney, Empire Justice Center

ACEs, Adverse Childhood Experiences

Lisa French
Co-Founder and Executive Director, Field & Fork Network

Jessica Cinque
Human Services Policy Analyst with FPWA

Honorable Judy H. Kluger
Executive Director, Sanctuary for Families, Center for Battered Women’s Legal Services

Charles King
Chief Executive Officer of Housing Works

John K. Carroll
President, The Legal Aid Society

Marlene Roll
VFW, Legislative Chair & Veterans Advocate

Michael Weisberg
Foster-Adoptive Parent

Nicholas Stefanovic
Director of Monroe County Veterans Services

Gizel Garcia
Leader, Neighbors Together

Ivan Larios
Long Island Manager of Member Engagement for the New York Immigration Coalition (NYIC)

Ryan Foley
Supervising Attorney, Veterans Practice, NYLegal Assistance Group

Dennis Poust
Interim Executive Director, New York State Catholic Conference

David Sandman, Ph.D.
President & CEO, New York State Health Foundation

Kristen Kerr
Executive Director, New York Association for the Education of Young Children (NYAEYC)

Sheila Harrigan
Executive Director, The New York Public Welfare Association (NYPWA)

Andrea Smyth
Executive Director, NYS Coalition for Children’s Behavioral Health

Robert H. Tembeckjian
Administrator and Counsel, Commission on Judicial Court

NYS Council of Veterans

Wayne Spence
President of the Public Employees Federation (PEF)

Tamie Reed
Director, Otsego County Office for the Aging

Tim Hathaway
Executive Director of Prevent Child Abuse New York (PCANY)

Palmer Harvey
Syracuse Tenants Union

Faith Behum
UJA-Federation of NY

UNH, United Neighborhood Houses

Nicole McVinua
Director of Policy, Urban Pathways

Shayna Kessler
Senior Planner, Center on Immigration and Justice, Vera Institute of Justice

Coco Culhane
Executive Director of Veteran Advocacy Project

Milton Perez
Leader, Vocal-NY

Amy Haskins
Director, Wayne County Department of Aging

Cristina Jeffers
Zara Tenant Coalition

Honorable Patricia Marks
Monroe County Court Judge (Retired)

Association of New York Youth Bureaus

Ana Galvez
CASA, Community Action for Safe Apartments

George Sotiroff
CASA, Community Action for Safe Apartments

Citizens’ for Children

Crown Heights Tenant Union

NY Doctors Coalition

Sanctuary for Families

Supporting our Youth